Reckless Handling of Firearms in Creek County is a crime in Oklahoma. On average 32% of the American population owns firearms. In Oklahoma the average is much higher with approximately 45% owning guns. This increases the likelihood of gun related charges. Reckless handling of a firearm is one of the more complex charges for firearms. For instance, even in cases where you feel you are defending yourself, the law may view things differently.
Say you fire a warning shot above the heads of a hostile group trying to fend them off. If alcohol is near the premises, you may receive charges of reckless handling of a firearm because intoxicated people are likely present and easily inflamed. Of course intuition says this is an unfair charge. If you find yourself in a similar situation, or feel you have been charged unfairly, read on about the crime Reckless Handling of Firearms in Creek County to understand the charge and what we can do to help you.
Reckless Handling of Firearms and Its Elements:
The State must be able to prove several things in order for a reckless handling charge to stick. These are under Okla. Stat. tit. 21 §1289.11. Most obviously, you must be in possession of a firearm. This does not mean the gun is yours, but simply that you have physical control of the gun during the incident. Second, the action taken with the firearm must have the possibility of seriously harming another or even killing them. Lastly, you must understand that the action you took with the gun could have those results and yet disregarded the possibility anyway.
Consequences in Creek County of Reckless Handling:
Oklahoma labels Reckless Handling of Firearms in Creek County as a misdemeanor. However, it is important to note that people who have a handgun license have stiffer consequences if brought up on reckless handling charges. The handgun license may be subject to revocation and find may reach to $1,000. Other punishments for reckless handling though are under Okla. Stat. tit. 21 §1289.15. These may include prison time of 10 days to 6 months and/or a find between $50 and $500 dollars depending on the severity of the charge.
Attorneys Helping Reckless Handling of Firearms in Creek County:
We understand that situations are not often what they appear. If you attempt to protect yourself, or another, yet find yourself charged with reckless handling, call us. You have a constitutional right to carry your firearm and use it responsibly. Oftentimes this means to use it in intense situations. Let us help protect you and your rights when.